Kiltyclogher Holiday Centre Logo

Things to do


Kiltyclogher Heritage Centre

Kiltyclogher Heritage Centre houses an exhibition about 1916 Proclamation signatory Sean MacDiarmada. The exhibition contains an audio-visual facility and interpretive panels, providing visitors with information about Sean MacDiarmada and the history of the locality. Our Heritage Centre was officially opened in November 2014 and is located in the former Court House building in the centre of Kiltyclogher. Tours to Sean MacDiarmada's cottage can be arranged from the Heritage Centre



Black Pigs Dyke

Distance : 5km

The Black Pig's Dyke is a series of discontinuous linear earthworks in southwest Ulster and northeast Connacht, Ireland. Remnants can be found in north County Leitrim, north County Longford, County Cavan and County Monaghan. 

The earthworks usually consist of a bank with a ditch on either side. The bank is usually about 9 metres (30 ft) wide and the ditches are usually about 6 metres (20 ft) deep Excavation of a stretch in County Monaghan revealed that the original construction was of a substantial timberpalisade with external ditch. Behind the palisade was a double bank with intervening ditch. The timber structure was radiocarbon dated to 390-370 BCE, so all of the earthworks may date to that period. It has been suggested that they may have been modeled on the Ancient Roman Limes.

Sean McDermott's Cottage

Distance : 5km

This house was the family home of the ill-fated 1916 Rebellion leader, Sean Mac Diarmada, the patriot who was one of the seven signatories of the Proclamation of Independence in 1916 and who was executed by the British in May, 1916. It is a three-roomed thatched cottage with some thatched out-buildings, partially surrounded by rhododendrons, and with a fine view over Upper Lough Macnean.



Prince Connell's Grave

Distance : 5km

Prince Conalls Grave is located on the road to Glenfarne and is a passage grave which dates from the 2nd millennium B.C.

Located in Corracloona townland on an elevated peat covered sandstone area with great views overlooking Lough MacNean, the origin of the name is unknown but there are a number of Conalls in the Annals that had royal lineage.

The site was known as the 'Grave of the Great Gallagher', a Donegal bandit who was apparently killed by people of the area.


Lisdarush Fairy Fort

Distance : 7km

Rossinver Graveyard

Distance : 7km

Ballroom of Romance

Distance : 9km

Manorhamilton Castle

Distance : 15km

The massive ruins of this 17th century stronghold dominate the picturesque town of Manorhamilton. The Castle around which the town grew has a dramatic and colourful history – stories of which live on in the town to this day.


 Belleek Pottery

Distance : 20km

When you step into the world of Belleek Pottery you enter one of Northern Ireland’s oldest and most fascinating attractions. Original and unique pieces are made using traditional methods passed down from generation to generation.

Established in 1857 Belleek Pottery holds a very special place in the cultural and commercial heritage of County Fermanagh. Nestling on the banks of the River Erne this imposing building is home to the world famous Belleek Fine Parian china and also to one of Irelands top five visitor attractions.



Parke's Castle

Distance : 28km


A restored plantation castle of the early 17th century, picturesquely situated on the shores of Lough Gill, once the home of Robert Parke and his family. The Courtyard grounds contain evidence of an earlier 16th century Tower House structure once owned by Sir Brian O'Rourke who subsequently was executed at Tyburn, London in 1591. The Castle has been restored using Irish oak and traditional craftsmenship.




Florencecourt House

Distance: 30km


There is something for all the family at this warm and welcoming 18th-century property, the former home of the Earls of Enniskillen. The house enjoys a peaceful setting in west Fermanagh, with a dramatic backdrop of mountains and forests. There are glorious walks to enjoy, as well as fine vistas and play areas. 




Arigna Mining Experience

Distance : 50km

The Arigna Mining Experience is a unique community inspired initiative which records 400 years of mining history in the area. Coal mining provided much needed work in a region of poor agricultural land.  Regular employment was uncommon in the province of Connaught in the 19th and 20th centuries, and it is often said; “There was money in Arigna when there was no money elsewhere”.
The industry sustained the community of Arigna down through the centuries and helped them through the horrors of the famine years (1845 to 1852).